Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Stroppy
Contributor

I'm sick to death of all of it!

I'm a newbie.  I've been searching the net looking for ways to deal with my panic attacks and generalised anxiety disorder.  I've also been diagnosed with depression and "Cancerphobia".

My condition led to me being pensioned off out of my career in my early 50s.  Fortunately I'm coping financially but otherwise my life is a wreck.  The medications, especially Sql, caused my weight to balloon and one of the side effects of this was that I have now been diagnosed with type II diabetes.  I can cope with the diabetes and I'm desperately trying to deal with the weight but the drugs no longer seem to be working, especially the Sql.  I am easily "spooked" and will fall into anxiety quite readily.  A doctor only has to mention that I might have cancer to spark a full-blown panic attack.  I know the cause of this...both my parents died quite young with cancers that could not be effectively treated.  Both died terrible deaths and really made all the talk of palliative car providing comfort and relief sound like so much claptrap as both mum and dad suffered terribly.  I tried desperately to help them, researching every new treatment, etc...all to no avail.  It left me with a massive dread of the disease and I cannot even bear hearing about friends or acquantances developing the illness.