Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

tiges0816
New Contributor

Pushing me away because of depression.

I have been talking to this guy for a few months. It's long distance and things have been amazing. He's someone I could see myself with in the future and who I am really developing feelings for. However, just over two weeks ago, he revealed that he was in a bad place mental health wise due to depression. (I knew going in that he had issues, and I have absolutely no problem with that.) He explained that he closes himself off to everyone when he goes through a bad time. I fully understood this even though it worried me because I know depression affects people differently. I've sent messages every day letting him know that I care for him and would stick by his side during this time. He doesn't respond to any of them. I have anxiety myself and this is affecting the way I am handling this. I can send him messages and know that he isn't responding because of how he is feeling but he still is active on social media which is confusing to me. 

I got a message from him saying he wanted to be with me but he felt his emotions were keeping him from committing and he thinks he won't ever be able to be happy because his brain pushes people away. He said that he didn't think I shouldn't continue towards a relationship with him because I deserved better and he was too messed up. This was upsetting. I know he does care and I care too. He's shown that before. I don't know what to do now, I'm scared and I don't want to leave him, I really don't. Does anyone have any advice at all on where to go from here?

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Pushing me away because of depression.

Hi @tiges0816