Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

September
New Contributor

"Anxiety and mild depression"

I have just been diagnosed with anxiety and mild depression. It was done over the phone due to COVID. My GP asked personal questions to which I answered "not at all, a little, sometimes, often, all the time". This was done in the middle of some small talk, where I am from, how long I've been in Australia, what I do for a living. I found it strange. It is also very strange for me to be writing this post now. I've never done anything like this. The next step is a mental health care plan, six sessions, and a beta blocker if I want to, to deal with my everyday anxiety.

Is this the beginning of an endless road with mental health issues? I hope something good comes out of this. I feel hopeless and very lonely, but I also know this is the right thing to do.

6 REPLIES 6

Re: "Anxiety and mild depression"

Hi @September  You are entitled to ten free sessions with a counselor to help you cope with anxiety and depression. My sister has been seeing her therapist for two years and she is a much more confident person. She also has depression and anxiety. You are not alone. I know you feel hopeless,  there is light at the end of this tunnel. Be kind to yourself 🤗🌼💙💚💜xxxx

Hello @September 

Those 6-10 sessions are just with a psychologist and everybody is entitled to them. It does not necessarily mean a substantial diagnosis as they not psychiatrist.  Some people see a counsellor for a few months or a few years ad work things out.  One step at a time.  Certainly does not mean it will be endless.

Smiley Happy

Hi @September