Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Jenaye
Casual Contributor

lost

Hi, I am new to this. I am finding that I am at a stage of confusion and feeling lost. Four months ago, my son tried to end his life. He survived and has recovered well. He has been doing all the things suggested  and is on medication and all of this during stage 4 lockdown. In fact he seems to be doing really well. My problem is that I am not. I have such a mixture of feelings and confusion inside me that I really no longer have any idea what Im thinking  most days. I will begin counselling in a month but have got to the stage where I am just holding on. Ive been trying so hard to be strong for my son and have had to confront some very traumatic issues and situation, that now my mind and body feel like they will never be the same. I also have chronic health issues which dont help. Any thoughts or ideas would be appreciated,  as I need to keep it together for my families sake as well as my own. Thanks for listening.

6 REPLIES 6

Re: lost

Hey there @Jenaye 

Welcome to the SANE forums. I’m one of the moderators. It’s very courageous of you to reach out for support. You’ve been through some very challenging times with your son. It’s normal to feel overwhelmed and confused considering what you’ve been through. I'm glad you're taking some positive steps in supporting yourself. Our wonderful forum members will be able to offer you some support and connection on your journey. I’m sure they will pop by soon.

If you would like one-on-one support from a counsellor, you’re welcome to ring our Help Centre on 1800 18 7263 (Mon-Fri, 10am-10pm).