Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

30something
Casual Contributor

bad job interview rant - looking for work after a covid-19 redundancy

I had a job interview on Friday, my first real face to face one I have had since I lost my job at the beginning of April, (a job where I had been working steadily for nearly 6 years).  The interview was a disaster for a number of different reasons.  My anxiety was out of control and they asked some really unnessersary and just plain stupid qustions which only made my anxiety worse.  The job was for a data entry clerk (a 6 month temp role) where I would be entering text into a spreadsheet, (not very complicated!) so i didn't anticipate there being a 3 person panel for this role and I didn't overly prepare for it either.  I walked into this room of three people, and on realising that there were three of them, my eyes immediately dropped to the floor, my body language shifted (I put my back to them, oops!), and I got very shakey (I have social anxiety, but I don't normally act like that).  The questions on the surface seemed to be pretty easy, 'tell us about yourself' and 'what type of skills do you have that would suit this role', but after that they started probing me more about the years between when I finished uni (back in 2001) to how I got to where I am today, "why have I changed jobs so often?', 'why are there gaps?'.  Talking about my eariler years of uni and early worklife (I got bullied and hated my job) is hard for me and of course I didn't say any of this to the interviewers, but it triggered all sorts of thoughts in my head.  Anyway, I dropped out of a Bachelor of IT, and swtiched to Bachelor of Arts, for really no other reason the